My Life In Books Tag!

Hey! Today I’m doing a (very overdue) tag which I was nominated to do by Rogan (a.k.a one of the nicest bloggers I’ve e-met) from Signing On. It’s the My Life in Books Book Tag! Let’s get started:

image

1.Find a book for each of your initials:

An Abundance Of Katherines by John Green

image

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (please tell me I’ve got the author right)

image

Gone Girl by someone I don’t remember

image

(I’m terrible. I know.)

2. Count your age along your bookshelf. Which book is it?

I won’t count my Harry Potter book shelf, because obviously it’s gonna be predictable. From my regular shelf… Hyperbole & a Half by Allie Brosh! 

3. Pick a book set in your city/state/country.

There’s a very limited number of books that have been set in my country, and most of which are in arabic (a.k.a I’ve never really read any). There is just this one small story I remember reading in French about five years ago, it’s called Le Foulard Jaune (The Yellow Scarf) and it’s about a Chinese exchange student who faces racism from people at her lebanese school. It’s an interesting story because from where I’m from I think racism and prejudice are present among many of us, the reason being that we are never really exposed to many different races. The only black people we see are maids and servants from Africa (don’t worry, it’s not slavery, we pay them, but I think they’re very badly mistreated). The main conflicts here are religion-based.

4. A book that represents a destination you would love to travel to.

Harry Potter. Need I say more?

5. Pick a book that is your favourite colour.

My copy of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (2014 Bloomsbury Edition) has this amazing shade of azur fading into deep blue. Combined with the silver patronus and the tiny gold stars, it’s really magical.

image

6. Which book do you have the fondest memories of?

I feel like the Harry Potter card is very easily played in this type of book tags (as I have already done myself). I’m going to go with a french book called Sans Famille, which I remember reading and loving during fourth grade. It really made an impact.

7. Which book did you have the most difficulty reading?

Well… I don’t know. I never finished Angels and Demons but I think that was just because I wasn’t in the mood. There was this story for french class last year called La Mort Du Roi Tsongor. I hated the setting, the characters, everything wasn’t my taste, so I’ll say that. I guess if the story had been put in a different setting, I would have appreciated it better, because the plot was quite interesting.

8. Which book in your TBR pile will give you the greatest feeling of accomplishment when you read it?

Everything! I want to read everything, and it’s all satisfying! But the one that would stick out would be… Hmm. Nothing really. I’m not forcing myself to read anything just for the hell of it. If I had to chose, it would be Les Misérables by Victor Hugo, it’s iconic but I can’t find the integral version anywhere. It’s also huge.

image

Aaand that’s it! I hope you enjoyed reading this tag, I haven’t done any in a while 🙂 I’d like to nominate gxxdbyeagony, Rei, Laura, and calliopethebookgoddess to do this. Have fun!

10 thoughts on “My Life In Books Tag!

  1. Aww, thank you! That’s so sweet!!!! Isn’t the Prisoner of Azkaban cover in the new editions gorgeous…. And yes, Jane Austen is the author of Pride and Prejudice 😉 What you mentioned about race is really interesting…. I’m in an international school so I’m surrounded by people from all of the world…. I liked your post and hope you had as much fun writing it as I did reading it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did, thanks for nominating me!!
      I really wish I could be around more different kinds of people, from all races, religion… I’ve only ever met two or three foreigners who weren’t working as maids or any kind of workers. I hate how they’re not fully respected, I guess it comes from the part of me who stands by muggle-borns and squibs.

      Liked by 1 person

Just say it already!

