Guys I fucking miss Harry Potter

LIKE OH MY GOD

I JUST REALIZED HOW MUCH I MISS H👏A👏R👏R👏Y👏P👏O👏T👏T👏E👏R

!

I am a huge Harry Potter fan. I’ve talked about it on my blog a lot of times, notably in a few essays called Potter & Me in which I tell my discovery and experience with the series. I even made a segment of me interviewing my sister about Harry Potter two years ago (which got abandonned like most of what I start). I’d provide you with links but I doubt anyone would use them.

I always went through phases with my Potterheadness. I’d lose interest for a little while, then get hit with Potter Fever and go back to binging all the material I could lay my hands on. Rereading the books, posting quotes, joining forums, playing online RPG games (hogwartsonline was my shit), harrassing my friends until they pick the books up, entre autres.

The problem is that every time I reread the books, I would always lose the momentum on Deathly Hallows and eventually stop midway through. Thus, I’ve never read Deathly Hallows through end. I’ve read the first half like 4 times, but I can’t finish the rest e v e r y t i m e. I’ve read it in full, of course, but in French, back when I first discovered it.

Because of this, my “fever” finally calmed down to a halt since my last failed attempt, and I never thought of picking the books up since. That didn’t mean I was any less of a Potterhead, of course; I bought Cursed Child on release day (let’s not talk about that… thing, though), and I watched Fantastic Beasts as soon as it came out (now that, we can talk about any day), but I haven’t bothered to reread the actual books or rewatch the movies.

But I’m making this post now, so as you have probably guessed, I AM AFFLICTED WITH POTTER FEVER ONCE MORE!

It all started when I literally forced one of my close friends to take the first book with him on holiday. He was so adamant on not reading, to the point where he read it just so he can prove to me that he won’t like it.

Obviously, he did like it. He’s now begging me to give him the second. I wanted to make him wait as a punishment for being a stubborn in the beginning, but he texted me a picture of him downloading the second movie, and I can NOT risk him commiting the crime of watching-before-reading.

Anyway, this reminded me of how enchanted I were when I first discovered the series, and how badly I missed the wizarding world. So here I am, showing symptoms of Potter Fever once again! 

However, I do not want to repeat my old mistakes. This time around, I want to start from Deathly Hallows at once. It’s against my core beliefs, but I see no other way. Wow, I’m amazing at making silly stuff sound heroic.

My birthday was last week, and this same friend who was on holiday brought me a wAND FROM THE WIZARDING WORLD OF HARRY POTTER AT UNIVERSAL. The DUMBLEDORE one. I can’t describe how amazing it felt to hold it for the first time. Not only that, but my other amazing friend got me the HOGWARTS LIBRARY! I had been looking for them my entire life! She got me the new editions, in that pretty green case, and I melted when I opened the package. I already started rereading Tales of Beedle the Bard and the nostalgia hit me like a truck. 

God I missed Harry Potter. And I’m ready to dive back in.

4 thoughts on “Guys I fucking miss Harry Potter

Just say it already!

