aVeryAwkwardParty

So yesterday I went to my first party ever.

It was like, my first ‘official’ party. A PARTY party. Not a birthday party, not a bachelor party, not a wedding party, not a christmas party, not a farewell party, a PARTY. A full out beach bar party.
We, CSR Seniors 2016-2017, threw our first party to raise money for next year’s prom.

Was I nervous?

I don’t even need to answer that. Guess.

The whole time I was like WHAT on EARTH do people do at a damn party?! They drink? I’m not going to get wasted! They dance? LOL. I don’t want to kill my little social relevance just yet. They flirt? HAHA right.

First off, I had to look the part. I had literally nothing to wear to a beach party. Only a few weeks ago had I come out of the shyness closet and started going to beaches and wearing airy clothes, so I had to go out and shop for new clothes.

My mom took me around town to different stores, and I ended up buying a lot more than I expected. There were sales and my mom just couldn’t resist making me try everything. By the way, those were my (early) birthday gift. I’m happy about that.

I got myself ready, pshhed a bit of perfume, and went with my sister. Oh god. Dad would not stop.
‘Don’t drink too much’
‘Stay AWAY from the beach. The will get you.’
‘Don’t leave your drinks unattended because people WILL try to put drugs and all kinds of nasty stuff in it.’
‘If you see a fight call security and possibly the police.’
‘Stick with your friends if you don’t like being raped.’
OH, and:
‘Take care of your sister’
‘Keep an eye on your sister’
‘Always check on your sister’
‘Make sure no one is hitting on your sister’
‘Your sister’
Etc.

After that short, long ride, we got there. Oh, did I mention that supposedly I helped organize the party? I was class prez this week so all 6 of us from different classes were behind the party. But I didn’t get too involved (for OBVIOUS reasons) so I felt more like a guest tbh.

First thing I did was go talk to my friends.

That also happened to be the thing I did for the entire. Rest. Of. The. Evening.

I’m not complaining though. I DID have fun. Way more than I was expecting. My closest friends were extra nerds and didn’t come, but one did and we basically spent the night with a few other friends, and the time passed quickly. I had a few Jamaicas and Orange Vodka (it felt so weird to be on the opposite end of the bar this time) (omg what a floppy bartender am I. Always behind the bar and never even tried it) but I didn’t feel like ‘drunk’ and stuff so that’s good (or bad? I don’t know, I wanna try being drunk for once and write a post while being it.)

At one point we all gathered at the beach (the waves didn’t get me, PRAISE JESUS HURRAY) and lit those cool flying lantern thingies (you like put some sort of burny candle thingie in it and once there’s enough air it flies). Some people were successful, some people failed at lighting it, some people’s candle dropped, but I was the only lucky one whose lantern literally got set on fire mid flight and started dropping firelets on people and tables and umberellas, causing terror and chaos. GOD. It was hilarious though, for whatever reason.

The entertainment was good, first we had a dance team put on a slayful show, then a singer came and sang basic songs (his voice slayed tho) and got da people goin. I tried to dance without looking too awkward and I think I somehow succeeded. A bit.

The best moment of the night was when my best friend and I got photographed by an instant polaroid camera. God, these photos are so precious. It made us look like movie stars from the last century. I keep it in my wallet and look at it from time to time to brag to myself how much of a movie star I am look.

image
I actually look nothing like a movie star but oh well

The party died down about 3 AM and everyone went home. Poor dad, we woke him up to come get us (that’s right, ‘Don’t trust taxis!’)

It was a pretty good party, many people showed up and we made a quite nice sum of money (about 3500$). I have no idea how much throwing an awesome prom would exactly cost but we’ll just keep raising hell in the streets drink beer and get into trouble oooh heavy metal lovaaa as much money as we can.

Partying wasn’t that hard OR terrifying after all! I’m ready to take on another one. That is, with my friends by my side. WIIIIIII

16 thoughts on “aVeryAwkwardParty

Just say it already!

