April Book Haul!

Hello πŸ˜€

In this post I’m going to be showcasing all the books I got this month.

Well who am I kidding I got all of these at the Bookyard (second hand book market with huge discounts) in March but I just remembered that I STILL haven’t showed them to you so um hehe let’s like pretend I just got these shall we?

First up! A gem I certainly did not expext to find:

image
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince - Arabic Edition

You recognize the cover, but you have no clue what in the world is scribbled all over it? That’s right, this is Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince – in Arabic! My friend had found it somewhere and I couldn’t let it go so I bought it. Obviously I wasn’t going to read this – arabic bores me to death. But I like to collect as much Harry Potter stuff as I can get my hands on.
Plus, it is HILARIOUS. Unintentionally, that is. All the name translations are ridiculous, they’re all written in brackets so there’s about 20 brackets a page, and the dialogue sounds just si awkward! This is certainly not the same with the French translation, which, in certain aspects, I find to be even better than the original.

Next we have this godly artifact that has been presented to me by holy circumstances:

image
Poker Face: the Rise and Rise of Lady Gaga

SLAY
I read that book like two summers ago, but on ebook. I never imagined I’d actually ever find a copy, much less one that affordable! I grabbed it, hid the cover, pretended it was for a ‘girl friend’ of mine and bought it. It remained wrapped in a paper bag until I came home where I unwrapped it, gaped at the iconic pictures and flawless texture of the book (so bendable and easy to read!) and promised myself I’d reread it some day when I’m feeling nostalgic.

We now have this beautiful book:

image
The Cuckoo's Calling

I bought it just because of its beauty. It’s so lush! I already read it on ebook as well but since it was discounted and I already had the second book and was planning on buying the third, I couldn’t not get it. It’s annoying that it’s a different size than the second but in the grand scheme of things, does it really matter?

This is the next book I got:

image

I feel like I’m constantly hearing about it and stumbling across it but I never knew what it was all about. I saw it, and was like oh well let’s see.
Turns out it’s just a workbook version thingy, not the actual book. I was pissed about the waste of money that could have been spent on another actual book but I might as well just try to profit from it. Some day…

Onto this complete slayage of a book:

image
Jane Slayre

I didn’t even read the blurb. I didn’t read anything. I read the title on the spine, burst out laughing and immediately bought it.
That cover tho. I am literally slayed.
I really, really hope the sarcasm and irony extend into the book itself because I’d live for that.

Next we have this batch of books:

image
Left to right, top to bottom: The Coincidence of Coconut Cake; I Know You Got Soul; The Lost Boy; Always The Sun

I traded them for a few old books of mine. They’re the only ones that looked interesting enough. The coconut cupcake cuisine thingy one looks fresh and polished so I’m curious about that. The two white ones, eh. I don’t think I’ll be getting to them anytime soon but ya know in case of reading drought… Finally I got the yellow one because a) it fulfills a category from my reading challenge and b) my friend said that guy is funny so I was glad to snatch it away from him.

Moving on to this lucky find:

image
The Lord of the Flies

I’ve been meaning to read this for a looong time and actually was planning in ordering it (you know, once I learned how) before finding it so yay! It seems to be such a classic so I’m curious to find out what it holds. Though an evil Gawker article randomly spoiled a character death for me, for absolutely no fucking reason, so thanks a lot for that, Gawker.

Last book I’m gonna be talking about is this cute first british edition of Chamber of Secrets:

image
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

I actually noticed it on the Bookyard’s facebook page, it was barely visibile in some random picture and I was like CAN I HAVE IT PLEASE and the lady was like sure! So I traded it for some book of mine and here it is πŸ˜€ I love how simple and comfy it looks. NO. NO time for a fifth reread. YOU HAVE MANY MORE BOOKS TO ATTEND TO, ANTHONY. Who am I kidding tho, I probably will go through a marathon while waiting for Cursed Child to be released.

So I said this was the final book…
But I never said anything about a series!

image
The Fifty Shades of Grey Trilogy

Yep. I did. I did just buy that. Am I ashamed? Very. Do I regret it? Not in the slightest.
I’ve been telling myself that I’ll never ever read this series ever since I heard about them. I was scoffing at anyone who did. BUT HERE I AM! I found myself craving a fun, unserious read, and what better way than BDSM?
I promise I’m not a perverted teenager. Really. But everyone’s been reading excerpts on youtube and it’s honestly so hilarious so when I found the lot for 12$, I just grabbed them and ran.
I honestly can’t wait to get started on those
Right now I’m reading Scorch Trials, the second book of the Maze Runner series, and I’m enjoying them a lot so far. The first book was awesome. But it’s all too tiresome and traumatizing, so I need a calm read as soon as I finish the series.

Aaaand that was it for my book haul! I always have so much fun doing these. If you enjoyed this, you can expect another one in a month, after the May Bookyard! But I’m such a procrastinator that I’ll probably be here by Christmas.

Bye πŸ˜€

19 thoughts on “April Book Haul!

      1. Hell yes!! The original consists of: traumatic childhood experiences, a tragic love story, a crazy wife, a manipulative priest and a very twisted happy ending. Add some blood to the mix and you’ve got one hell of a story πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahahahaha yep I did hear about that – and that’s why I bought it, because from the excerpta it sounded so funny. It’s like the author wanted to be daring with the sexual acts she’s portraying but she was secretly uncomfortable writing them so it comes out in a weird way xD

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Omg Fifty Shades Of Grey is an amazing read!! Believe me! It is kinky (no offenceπŸ˜•) but it’s a book u would read for mere entertainment!! I have been wanting to read the book by Sean about teenagers but someone else has borrowed it in school but I heard it’s an amazing book so pls tell me how it is when ur done!! I love the books as much as I love this post!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. yeh, and hp in arabic is heery bawtr like wtf??omg!!i’ve got exactly the same edition of the chamber of secrets!!and it was at this book place where you just take books for nothing and u can if u wanna get rid of ur old books there !!pls recommend somegood bks to me, cos im runningout and like all ive been readiing lately are like really typical books like twilight and divergent and hiunger games and fuck it what not

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thirteen reasons why is amazing
      The maze runner series started good im still reading
      Many people recommend the lunar chronicles which i stilll havent started
      John green books in general are a fun read
      If you’re into mystery there’s the cormoran strike novels by jk rowling/robert galbraith
      The Perfectionists is a perfect series by sara shepard author of pretty little liars

      Liked by 1 person

      1. yeh, at school 2day, just borrowed cinder (1st lunar chronicle) i love john green!!ill try maze runner, many ppl say it gets boring after first, is it true?thanks!

        Liked by 1 person

Just say it already!

