Beginner’s Guide To Blogging #2/3 – Blogging Platforms/Domain Name & Blog Theme

Guess who missed a week 😁 *this guy*

Exams. You get it.

The previous topic had been: Blogging Platforms. I’m glad it was, because I have really no experience with any other blogging platforms, so I can’t elaborate on it. However, I can say that WordPress really is a great platform, and has failed me very rarely, so just use it and fu forget about the rest šŸ˜€

So we’re back with a new topic of Beginner’s Guide To Blogging, the awesome project hosted by ateenagediaryonline.Ā 

This week’s topic is: Domain Name and Blog Theme. Let’s gesstarted!

The domain name is the heart and core of your blog. Everything has to revolve around it, and every post should relate to it in a way, however subtle or obvious it is.

Way before I even thought about blogging, I always tried to imagine what I’d name my site if I had one for my very own. There were a lot of suggestions, most of which terrible.Ā 

When I decided that it was time for me to blog, I spent a few days trying to decide what the hell I was going to name my site. It was emotionally challenging to say the least. Frustrating would be a better word.

So basically, I was still trying to decide exactly what I was going to blog about.Ā 

Was it a book blog? No, it couldn’t be. I did love to read but I wasn’t reading enough to make an exclusive blog for it.Ā 

A music blog? It’s fun to review (and throw shade at my) popstarz, but who’d read that?

A humor blog? Was I really that funny? Hhhh nope.

What about a personal life blog? Again, who’d be interested in that? I was living in my country house at that time (which means summer) and my life was being at its boringest.Ā 

Ultimately, as you might guess from my tagline, I decided to go with all 4 of these. It would make a good balance, and allow me to post whatever I wanted. The hard part was going to be to find a blog title that would fit with all these subjects. It was really tough. I kept racking my brains, and whenever I thought of a good title, it’d turn out to be taken. Of course. Some of my first ideas were ‘LittlePotterMonsterHead’ (I’m still surprised that was taken. But I’m glad about it now), ‘Nervermind Me’ (also taken; glad it was because it’s too depressing), and ‘A Random Blog’ (the closest to what it is today).

Finally, I had to resort to chosing a title that was ME. It was my blog after all, and the best way to describe it would be how I describe myself.

Hence came aVeryAwkwardBlog.

I had my doubts at first. I even considered deleting the whole thing and doing it all over again. But I was thankfully too lazy to do that, and here I am!

As for the theme, that’s pretty simple. Pretty much all the themes are great and attractive, and I’m sure you’ll be fine with any. There are however some themes that have special features others don’t, so keep an eye out for that in the WordPress FAQ site.

You can still personalize a lot of your blog. The header, the background, the banner, everything on this blog is hand (or cursor) made. It’s really fun to create, too. Also, you may notice the exotic category titles on the side bar. That’s very easy to customize, and I recommend you to do that if you run a personal/friendly blog because it’s just you. It lets your readers know you have a unique style. It’s #kewl 😎

And of course, if you’re new to this stuff and are a bit lost, do not hesitate for one moment to ask for help! We’re all more than glad to offer a hand. Need help chosing a theme? Designing a banner? Putting up a background? Leave a comment on any of our blogs and we’ll do our best to make yours look fantabulous. Remember, we’re family šŸ™‚

So that was it for this week! I know next week’s topic will be revealed soon so I’ll keep an eye out for that. Hope you enjoyed this! See you soon šŸ™‚

Suggested by Keira: A good site for banners etc. is canva.com. You can get some images for free as well as layouts and more!

4 thoughts on “Beginner’s Guide To Blogging #2/3 – Blogging Platforms/Domain Name & Blog Theme

Just say it already!

