Reading Habits Tag!

Hello baes.

I have stumbled upon this nice book tag on this awesome blog (check it out!), so I thought I’d do it too since I haven’t posted in a while (I want to continue working on my Potterviewster series but I’m too lazy right now)

So here we go:

1. Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

I usually read on my bed, in various and often weird positions. I can still read wherever I want but it’s not as comfortable.

2. Bookmark or random piece of paper?

 I used to make my own bookmarks with cards and stuff but last year a girl in my class had like a box of bookmark stickers that you just stick on the page wherever you stop and take them off easily and reuse them… So i nicked one and I’ve been using it ever since (I’m also surprised by how durable they are, mine’s still being used after almost a year and it’s still sticky).

 3. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop at the end of a chapter / after a certain amount of pages?

I have several self-set rules for that…

First off, any actual reading session should last for at least 30 pages, the average being 50. Anything under that is weak.

Second, I may only stop reading at the end of sections inside chapters, a.k.a where there’s a blank line or where there are the little stars (you know, these *** in the middle). Stopping in the middle of a paragraph is only acceptable in case of emergency.

And lastly, at the end of every reading session a page check is mandatory. If I find that there are 10 or less pages left until the next chapter, I have to continue reading and finish what I started.

4. Do you eat or drink while reading?

 I have no problem drink-reading, because it’s quite simple. As for eating, if it’s a chocolate bar or a sandwich, then yes. If it’s a plate, or anything requiring more than one hand, I always try to make it work by flattening the book if possible or leaning it against something, but I usually fail and either eat hastily or just leave the food.

5. Multitasking: music or TV whilst reading?

No way. TV is just too annoying and distracting, and so is music, but to a lesser extent. Like I can listen to music and read, especially if it’s instrumentals or calm songs, but I usually become too invested in the music and start humming and singing so I just like to do everything by itself.

6. One book at a time or several on the go?

Is that even possible? Do people actually do that?

Oh wow. I never considered this. 

Maybe it could allow me to read more in a shorter period of time! 

But I don’t think so. The prospect is alarming. I don’t like the idea of giving my attention to two or more stories at a time, so I don’t get confused. Even when I finish a book I leave a 1-2 day ‘withdrawl’ periods (except for series of course).

7. Read at home or everywhere?

As my dearest friend Sheldon once stated…

image

I mean if it were socially acceptable (where Iive) for a 16 year old boy to carry a book around, I would do it all the time. But I want to avoid awkward stares so I’ll just leave reading for home (except for ebooks because no one would know).

  
8. Read aloud or silently in your head?

I usually read silently, but I recently discovered that I thoroughly enjoy reading Harry Potter dialogues out loud. I’ve got special accents for everyone, and it’s just so fun to try to talk british! 

9. Do you read ahead or skip pages?

I never skip pages, even if I’ve already read the book or know what happens (well except for particularly boring prologues). But I do have the unfortunate habit of reading ahead a few lines, especially if it’s the end of the chapter, and I get so pissed off at myself and become disoriented. (That’s why with books like the Hunger Games I put my phone or something on the bottom of the page and glide it as I read).

 
10. Breaking the spine or keeping it new?

I always do my best to conserve the spines, that’s why I prefer unbendable ones, but I usually end up messing them up and folds appear so I just go what the heck and bend them.

11. Do you write in books?

In school books, obviously (just ask a certain friend of mine… He’s – ahem – ‘decorated’ all my books with quite interesting drawings).

In normal books, I try to conserve their original aspect as much as I can so no. I do wish I could scribble on my Harry Potter copies and highlight quotes and favorite moments but I just can’t bring myself to do it! 

Dassit 🙂

I nominate every bookworm out there, this was fun. 

See ya!

2 thoughts on “Reading Habits Tag!

    1. I guess the wording is a bit harsh ^^’ It’s not ‘unacceptable’ of course, but I mean I must be the only boy in my town who reads books and doesn’t play football or something. I meant that people would find it stupid and nerdy (and I’m sure that’s the case in many other countries, especially for boys).

      Like

Just say it already!

