50 Awkward Stages of my Airport Trip

Today we went to the airport to pick up my uncle’s family who are coming to stay for two weeks to attend my other uncle’s wedding. While I went mostly because I wanted to listen to a new album on the road, it was quite a process. 

1. Omagash we’re goin to the airport like cool people who actually aren’t confined to this country do omagash omagash

2. Let’s sleep early so we won’t feel sleepy on the road. *reschedules alarm to 3 A.M.*

3. *3 A.M.* What who where what’s happening what am I doing here who am I what’s going on what’s that sound 

4. WHO TURNED ON THE ALARM CLOCK THIS EARLY IS THIS A JOKE IT’S ONLY 3 A.M. I WANNA SLEEP

5. Ohh right. The airport.

6.*Clumsily puts on clothes*

7.*Realizes shirt is on backwards and readjusts it*

8. Off we go yaaaay

9. Shit that’s a long ride.

10. My butt is hurting already gosh how can they bear sitting in that airplane for 14 hours straight

11. Let’s not talk about my headphones that are pretty much sewing my ears to my skull.

12. And we’ll never be royals (rooooyals)

13. Are we there yet

14. Are we there yet

15. Baby I rule I rule I rule I ruuuule

16. Are we there yet

17. Fucking finally.

18. OH GOD THE SMELL. THEY WEREN’T KIDDING ON THE NEWS.

19. Ooooo we’re goin in omagash omagash omagashh

20. So many peoplezz. Why do they all have to look cooler than me. I didn’t really think about all the damage to my self-esteem this trip would cause.

21. Oh great a caffeteria.

22. 20$ for a coffee no thank u. Also I don’t even drink coffee so.

23. Selfie time with sis.

24. No wait lemme fix my hair.

25. No wait until this man passes so it won’t look like we’re taking photos of him (but I mean look at him why would we)

25. No wait we should move a little so the airport signs are visible and people know how cool we are to be involved in airports and such.

26. Hmm this filter looks better actually

27. Lemme post it on insta omg we’re so cool out n about at 5 A.M.

28. There.

image

29. Okay so maybe we should go and wait for our cousins to appear because that’s why we’re here?

30. Omg I want his hair can I have his hair

31. Lol is she lost

32. OMG THAT’S THEM THAT’S nope wait it’s a man in a dress.

33. Look at all those old people why do they get to travel and not me 😦

34. This kid is such a diva.

35. Finally it’s them yaaaaay omfg they’ve changed so much it can’t have been two years only

36. *awkward confusion* do I stay here do I go meet them do I do a backflip

37. Um hi hello hi how are you how was your flight are you tired okay well great hello hi

38. And the award for the most awkward welcome goes to… *no drumroll cz winner is obvs*

39. Um I’ll go with dad you go with the others what no please I have anxiety oh alright fine

40. Hello young shy cousin welcome to Lebanon. No it does not smell that horrible everywhere. Also this sand storm isn’t permanent. Wow what a great first impression we’re making.

41. *awkward silence for about an hour* 

42. Okay then if you don’t mind imma play on my phone for a bit

43. Seriously now you bother to ask me questions when I’m in the zone – um no uncle how many times have you asked I am not in college yet and I do not have a girlfriend to go marry in Australia. Though I wish both were true.

44. OMFG SLOW DOWN THERE’S A RETARDED DOG SLEEPING IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD!!1!

45. *texts dad who’s behind us so he watches out for retarded dog*

46. Yes now open your window see it doesn’t smell like trash everywhere

47. Oh well it does here but only because of the fertilizers.

48. Yay we’re home

49. *stands smiling awkwardly in the back with dad and sisters watching cousins being greeted by everyone and cried upon by grandma*

50. Alright well you enjoy your breakfast I’ll just go sleep for days 🙂

Wasn’t this fun.

Just say it already!

