iReview: Cry Baby by Melanie Martinez

I was on Instagram the other day, looking through a hilarious Marina and the Diamonds fanpage, and there was a lot of talk about a new album called Cry Baby by Melanie Martinez very similar to Marina’s second album, Electra Heart. Being a fan of that album, I immediately downloaded Cry Baby. I have only heard two songs from it, and I liked them, so I’ll listen to the entire album right now for the first time and rate each track. Fingers crossed I won’t fall asleep because it’s midnight.

image

Tracks:

1- Cry Baby

First off, this beat is sick. Her voice reminds me of someone but I can’t put my finger on it. Ellona Santiago from X Factor? 

Omg her voice in the chorus sounds just like Lana Del Rey when her voice is strained. 

I got it! She sounds like a young Lana on her old demos. Gogo Dancer! Now I remember! 

This song is way better though. From the production to the lyrics to the voice. I’m excited for what’s to come.

2- Dollhouse

Okay, this kinda sounds like the first song… 

The chorus is enchanting… But also funny. I can’t not hear “It’s Grace’s Faces, Grace’s Faces, I take my friends’ faces and make them… Better!(?)”. I just can’t xD

The lyrics are great though.

You can never go wrong with a Spelling Bee. Di oh el el eytch oh you es i. 

That last lyric is definitely gonna be my new Whatsapp status.

3- Sippy Cup

This sounds like a cat sipping water. Or a tongue flicking on something (I won’t go into much more detail). 

The music is great but I don’t like the chorus melody… It’s ironically too baby like. Maybe (probably) it’s supposed to be this way.

Now let’s play a fun game called In How Many Weird Ways Can You Pronouce Sippy Cup! 

4- Carousel

OMG YAS.

THIS IS SO FAB.

AND CREEPY.

I love these beats that start off as normal sounds and turn into infernal jams. I love this song already.

Is it me or her voice changed?

Omg yas more beats. Slay me with your carnival beats.

Did she say cum on purpose?

Now I have round and round like a horse on a carousel and that other quote for my whatsapp status. Which one to pick gah.

This song is just wow. I love twisted carnivals.

Love it.

5- Alphabet Boy

Babubahbuhba? Me too.

I don’t understand why he’s called Alphabet Boy but that guy sounds like me. I think I’m smarter than all u hoes.

Omg she is so Lana on that bridge. I had almost forgotten how much Lana slays with her haunting voice.

Good job turning babubahbuhba into a hook!

6- Soap

STOP THIS ANNOYING SOUNDDD.

Thank you.

Did she just say I think I left the farts running?

If she did… I love her already.

Wowzi. What is dubsteppy post chorus? It’s so… Soapy! Weird right?

This song is so great, why did you have to start it with a braincrushing sound? Hein? Heinn?

Oooh I’m getting National Anthem vibes. 

7- Training Wheels

Oh no not a lullaby just when I started not feeling sleepy 😦

Yep. A lullaby.

I appreciate the yuuuhuuu and the multiple curse words in the chorus but I can still hear the lullaby sound and it’s driving me mad and I’m trying really hard not to skip this one.

I might have liked this better in different circumstances. But now it’s too much.

YAY IT’S OVER.

8- Pity Party

Yay for the awesome psychedelic beat. 

Wait wait wait wait wait.

Wait.

Where have I heard this before?

?!?!?!?!

THIS IS MADNESS!!!!

Is this like a sample? 

This my party I can cry if I want to… WHERE HAVE I HEARD THIS BEFOREEEEEEEEEEEE IT’S DRIVING ME CRAZYYY.

Is this the song they used to play on kids shows?

I’m laughing I’m crying I feel like dying? Relatable. Third runner up for my whatsapp status.

And then someone screams.

This might be the best song so far. Encore!

Nooo don’t be over 😦

9- Tag, You’re It

Oooh creepy dark voice. Me likey.

How can she take these kiddie titles and make them so awesome?! Like wow! Seriously. Who thought Tag, You’re It could be that catchy.

Eenie meenie minie moe lol. This reminds me so much of Raining Men. *domdomdadadadadomdomdom*

Omg yes desintegrate urself bitch. Fab.

10- Milk and Cookies.

Can I eat this? 

Too bad.

Why is the chorus so superficially produced it’s disconcerting I’m scared. I need to lower the volume. Too many crazy bells.

All the songs kind of sound similar but each one is so unique. Weird. But I guess that’s how albums should be.

11- Pacify Her

More with the lullaby. Really?

This one is much more tolerable though.

Yas bae slay that basic bitch.

Lol this is so shady. Pacify that bitch or I’ll shoot her.

This is greatness.

Well to answer your question Mel, no, wanting is not equal to getting. I want to be Miranda Sings but I will never be no matter how hard I try to fuck up my voice.

Anyway.

12- Mrs. Potato Head

Why the moaning bitch how old are you.

I really have no idea in what context she will possibly use Mrs. Potato Head. How many definitions could a potato head have?!

Let’s see.

Wait. Sexual? What’s sexual about a round piece of plastic? 

Oh well I get it.

Okay sorry but I don’t get what Mrs. Potato Head has to do with this.

Oh wait I get it again. This is about surgery.

You little Melanie, you. The cleverest witch of her age.

She’s basically saying no one will love me. Thanks Meli.

At least my face stays together.

13- Mad Hatter

Okay…

Wow that caught me by surprise!

Sick beat.

Leave ur skin in place hoe.

Can I get the instrumental to this pwease? 

So edgy. 

You’re definitely off your rockers.

Thank you for saying I’m crazy I appreciate it ^^

This song is crazy. This whole album is crazy.

AND I LOVE IT.

Arearararaaa

Do I stop here or do I continue with the bonus tracks?

Oh what the heck.

14- Play Date

I hear this HoghHogh that’s so born to die-y.

More lullabies? Stop it.

Oh I can lend you my Monopoly marina. I mean melanie. Oops. I swear this wasn’t on purpose.

I just realized how weird and confusing these reviews probably sound to people who haven’t heard the songs yet. Like what is this whackadoo talking about XD.

Well listen and you’ll know smh.

15- Teddy Bear

Ooh this beat is nice it’s kinda like Cry Baby.

Groovy. Okay.

Talking in your sleep? Are you talking about my sister? She’s having a conversation with her pillow like right now.

Whow. What? Your teddy bear tried to kill you?!

You’re one freaky bitch if I do say so myslef.

Why am I hearing Daddy Bear. 

This changes the whole meaning of the song. 

Perv.

Her voice is so angelic and demonic at the same time it’s so awesome.

Eh eh eh eyy bye.

16- Cake.

Oh no! Fuck. This track is corrupted. I wanted to redownload it but I forgot. Shit then 😦 I guess I’ll have to review it when I download it. Hope I’ll remember.

So… That was it.

I certainly did not fall asleep.

There are some killer songs in here, many good ones, and barely any fails. I won’t give single ratings to each song because that would be pointless. 

This album ensnared my senses (thanks Snape). The cohesiveness of it all is mindblowing. It’s really haunting and I love it. 

My favorite track for now is probably Pity Party but I won’t know for sure until I give it a second listen. Which I definitely will. I’m so glad I found this album. 

I recommend it to any Marina, Lana, or Pop fan in general. It’s a truly great experience.

Rating: 4.4/5 Stars.

16 thoughts on “iReview: Cry Baby by Melanie Martinez

  1. Melanie be the SHADY QUEEN XD
    This review ACTUALLY got me laughing…hmmm and my mum thinks I’ve gone crazy (got to tone it down a bit ).
    I LOVE your review! Although, it looks like you didn’t much enjoy the ones which had a lullaby in them 🙂
    I can’t choose between a favourite..nope. Not at all:D

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yayyy! Thank you 😀 and well I always don’t really dig albums on the first listen but then it grows on me and I become obsessed. I mean look at some of the following posts I think it literally made me cry at some point.
      The only one I didn’t like much is Training Wheels but it got a bit better later.
      AND my fav is STILL Pity Party ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes…I agree, I just need to warm up to new music, so to speak.
        Training wheels is one of my FAV
        The scream in the video tho XD
        And also, have you seen the Soap and Training Wheels double feature?

        Liked by 1 person

Just say it already!

