iReview: The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

image

When I told my friends I wanted to read this book, they were like NO. They said it was overrated and stupid. Knowing my friends, I read the book anyway.

So let me make this clear: I try to avoid reviews/opinions on books (or music, or movies) before I read/hear/watch them myslef, because often my own opinion becomes too obscured by what others think, and that’s a big bummer, especially if it’s something negative. For example, Allegiant. Goodreads made me hate it. I’ll probably post about it later.

Anyway, this was not the case. I enjoyed The Fault in Our Stars in the way I was intended to, because, like what I heard many other people say, it left me weeping. Me. Who has never, ever, shed a tear to anything except the Pensieve scene in the last Harry Potter movie. And that’s just during the movie; the book left me unfazed.

It was my first John Green book, I read it in a few days during Christmas break and it was an enjoyable and refreshing read, following the complicated Angels & Demons that my friend had lent me (and that I didn’t even finish). 

The characters spoke in a quite weird and unrealistic way, like I would never expect atual teenagers to speak that way, and that’s coming from me. However, it added to the fun and quirkiness of it all.

It was less passive than I expected. I thought it was going to be a girl ranting on and on about how her life is not the same since she has cancer and how she fell in love with a handsome boy and how their love is forbidden and boohoomimblewimble, but it actually wasn’t that dramatic at all, apart from the ending, of course. 

In fact, the ending, while great, wasn’t really my favorite part, nor was it the part that made me ‘weep’ (and by weep I mean my eyes got all watery and stuff. It wasn’t exactly an endless flood of tears). It was when Hazel’s mother told her that she was going to start working that I felt a concentrated jolt of emotions hit me right in the feels. All Hazel was worried about was obstructing the life of her loved ones, and now she knew her parents will keep going, fighting new battles. That was really touching.

This was really the only time I could remember being brought to tears by a book, no matter how brief that moment was. However, it was the movie that made me really cry. It was done beautifully. The parts that hadn’t stirred my emotions in the book did so in the scenes, and I commend Shailene Woodley for her awesome interpretation of the main character. The thing I did not like about it was the ending line, ‘Okay’. I was like NOOOO YOU RUINED IT YOU’RE SUPPOSED TO SAY I DO AUGUSTUS WHY DIDN’T YOU SAY I DO AUGUSTUS WHYYY but now I’m fine with it.

Sure, the books were way over-hyped, and sure, it wasn’t the most original plot, but it was still a good book worth reading. I recommend it to everyone, even if you were hesitant or intimidated by its popularity. It has dimmed down now. No one’s gonna judge you. Probably.

Rating: 4/5

Just say it already!

